SSC Exams Pattern and Syllabus

SSC Exams Pattern and Syllabus
Created At 10 Jan, 2024
Category Career Building
Bullying or Ragging Government Exams Career Insights Success tips Psychological Insights

Cracking SSC exam is not easy but with the right planning you can crack this exam. Many students are preparing, but what are they studying ?  and what should they study ?  They don't  know, How to Prepare for SSC EXAM as they do not have proper information about the syllabus of the exam. Through this article you will get all the important information about what to read or not to read, so it is very important to read this article carefully, it will be beneficial for you, as you will get a lot of help for the preparation of this exam. Through the article you will get the following information –

What is SSC Exam?

  • What is the eligibility for SSC exam?
  • What is the pattern of SSC exam?
  • What is the syllabus of SSC exam?
  • What are the types of SSC exam?

1. What Is SSC Exam?

SSC (Staff Selection Commission) was constituted on November 4, 1975 and was named as Subordinate Services Commission. On 26 November 1977, it was renamed as Selection Commission or Staff Selection Commission. SSC is one of the famous departments of India and this institution provides employment to lakhs of students every year in the form of government jobs. SSC is a staff recruitment selection board which selects employees for Group B and Group C for various ministry of central government.

2. What is The Eligibility for SSC Exam?

To clear the SSC exam, students must have educational qualifications. Educational qualification is according to the post.

Age Limit

Age required to appear for SSC exam is 16 to 35 years.

3. What is the pattern of SSC exam?

SSC, generally, conducts the exam in four tiers for CGL where the abilities are the aspirants are tested properly :

Tier I -  Objective Exam ( General Intelligence & Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude, English Comprehension, General Awareness)
Tier II -  In this stage, the knowledge of the aspirants are test in acute manner in Quantitative Ability, General English by objective exam.
Tier III -  It is a descriptive exam where the writing skills are tested by essay and letter writing papers.
Skill Test - Here, the computer test is taken to judge the computer efficiency of the candidates.

Whereas SSC conducts the CHSL exam in three tiers, they are as follow:

Tier I -  Objective Exam ( General Intelligence & Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude, English Comprehension, General Awareness)
Tier II -  In this stage, the writing skill is tested of the candidates.
Tier III - Here the typing skill is tested of the candidates. 

4. What is the Syllabus of SSC Exam?

 In this exam questions are asked from Mathematics, English, General Studies, Reasoning.

  • SSC Quantitative Aptitude Syllabus
  • Number System
  • Algebra
  • Percentage
  • Ratio and Proportions
  • Boats and Streams
  • Probability
  • Age
  • Average
  • Time, Speed & Distance
  • Time and Work
  • Simple Interest & Compound Interest
  • Profit and Loss
  • LCM & HCF

SSC Intelligence and Reasoning Syllabus

  • Blood Relations
  • Number Series
  • Cubes
  • Dices
  • Clocks
  • Analogy
  • Data related puzzles
  • Syllogisms
  • Letter Series
  • Coding-Decoding
  • Directions
  • Logical reasoning
  • Analytical reasoning
  • Odd-one out
  • Venn Diagrams

SSC English Syllabus

  • Reading Comprehension
  • Usage of Words (Fill in the blanks)
  • Synonyms & Antonyms
  • Tenses
  • Sentence Formation
  • Error Spotting
  • Sentence Ordering from jumbled words
  • Preposition

SSC General Studies Syllabus

  • History
  • Geography
  • Economy
  • General Science
  • Polity
  • Computer

5. What Are The Types Of SSC Exam?

SSC CGL (Combined Graduate Level Examination)

Students who have passed from graduation can sit in this exam. Age required to appear for SSC exam is 18 to 32 years. After passing this exam, one can work on the following posts-

  • Inspector Income Tax
  • Inspector Examiner
  • Inspector Central Excise
  • Assistant Audit Officer
  • Assistant in the Ministry of External Affairs
  • Assistant in Central Vigilance Commission
  • Assistant Change Officer

This exam is mainly divided into 4 parts-

SSC CGL (Tier- 1)

General Intelligence & Reasoning
Quantitative Aptitude
English Comprehension
General Awareness

SSC CGL (Tier- 2)

Quantitative Ability
General English

Descriptive Test (Tier- 3)

In this part, writing essay and letter which is to be written in Hindi and English and this paper is of 100 Marks.

Skill Test

In this skill test is given like computer typing speed as well as how much knowledge of computer you have. For this you should have all the knowledge of computer.

6. SSC CHSL (Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination)

Anyone can give this exam after passing 12th class. To give this, first of all you must be a permanent citizen of India and your age must be between 18 years to 27 years. After passing this exam, a student can be appointed to the following posts-

  • Lower Division Clerk
  • Postal Assistant
  • Fact Admission Operator
  • Court Clerk

Format of SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

SSC CHSL (Tier- 1)

Total Question
Total Question
General Intelligence

Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill
1 hour
English Language

General Awareness

SSC CHSL (Tier- 2)

In the second stage, the writing skill test is taken, in which 1 hour is given.

SSC CHSL (Tier- 3)

Typing test is taken in the third stage, for this it is necessary to pass the first and second stage. To type in Hindi, it should be 30 words per minute and English should be 35 words per minute.

7. SSC Stenographer

To appear in the Stenographer exam, a candidate must have a graduation. To become a stenographer, it is necessary to know other language. To become a stenographer, the candidate has to appear in the examination and in this examination the typing test of Hindi and English is taken and after passing, the candidate has to write in English language or any other language, he is called a stenographer.

8. SSC JE (Junior Engineer)

After passing this exam, one can work in the Central Government for the post of Junior Engineer and to work in this post, it is mandatory for the student to do Diploma in Engineer.

9. SSC CAPE (Central Armed Police Force)

SSC CAPE After passing this exam, one can work in the Central Government in the Armed Police Forces in the posts of Inspector, Sub-Inspector etc.

10. SSC JHT (Junior Hindi Translator)

To be appointed to the post of Junior Hindi translator, it is necessary for any student to have complete knowledge of Hindi and English subjects. After passing this exam, he is appointed to the post of Hindi translator. In this, recruitment is done on the posts of Junior Translator, Senior Hindi Translator, Junior Hindi Translator.

11. SSC MTS (Multi-Tasking Staff)

SSC exam is given after 10th pass. After passing this exam, various posts of government like peon, junior gestation officer, watchman, gardener, sweeper are appointed.

12. SSC CPO (Central Police Organization)

CPO means graduation is required to clear the exam of Central Police Organization. After passing this exam, one can be appointed to the post of Sub Inspector, Assistant Sub Inspector, Central Armed Police Force in Delhi Police and CAPE. Driving license may be necessary for appointment to such posts.

Hope you liked this article. Through this article, you must have got all the information related to SSC. The goal of this article is just to get you the information about SSC in simple words so that it can help you in your preparation for the exam. Through SSC, you can fulfill your dream of government job, you just need to work Smarter by setting  a goal. Read the above syllabus thoroughly and work hard, you will get achieve your goal sooner. Our best wishes are with you.