November 30, 2021 - 7:04 am

 Celebrate The Joy Of Cinema 

The 52nd edition of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), Asia's oldest and India's biggest film festival, held on Saturday in Goa. The festival was conducted jointly by the Directorate of film festivals (under Ministry of Information and Broadcasting) and the entertainment Society of Goa, Government of Goa. The nine-day film gala was organised in a hybrid format - virtual and physical.

                                  Founded in 1952, the film festival is held annually, currently in the state of Goa, to celebrate the excellence of world cinema. The festival provides the perfect platform for understanding and appreciating the film cultures of different nations in the context of their social and cultural ethos and promote friendship and cooperation among people of the world.

                                 The IFFI organisers recently announced an interesting line-up for Indian panorama segment for 2021. Once again several regional-language movies were set to dominate this segment. Hema Malini, renowned actor and Member of Parliament was presented the Indian Film Personality of the year 2021. Award at the opening ceremony. Acclaimed lyricist and chairperson, CBFC Shri Prasoon Joshi was presented with the award on the closing day.

                                 Every editions of International Film Festival of India pays tribute to the stalwart the the film industry lost. The festival paid a special tribute to Sir Sean Connery, the first James Bond on the big screen. For the first time ever, films from the BRICS Nations showcased through the BRICS film festival alongside IFFI. This is the 6th edition of the BRICS Film Festival.

                                 The IFFI saw the participation of five major OTT players, namely - Netflix, Amazon Prime, Zee5, Voot and SonyLIV for the first time in history. The move aims to bolster the quality and produce fresh content, since these platform create variety of shows and movies every year. Digital India also paves the way of enthralling the audience virtually all over the world.

                                 Istevan Szabo and Martin Scorsese was conferred the first ever Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award at the 52nd, IFFI. In the ongoing celebrations of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, commemorating 75 years of Independence, the 52nd IFFI is hosting 75 creative minds from all over the country shortlisted by jury committee of esteemed film personalities.