Know About Defence Exams

Know About Defence Exams

Himani Singh
By Himani Singh
Government Exams Blog Writer

Defence exams are the most preferred exam by the youth. It is the dream of every citizen to protect our country and patriotism. In such a situation, one can join the Indian Army to serve the country. A commission's examinations are conducted by UPSAC. After qualifying this exam candidates are selected for recruitment in Indian Army, Air Force and Navy. Commissioned and non-commissioned officers are identified by rank, pay and rank. The commissioned officer has the responsibility of military training and the army. Non-commissioned officers provide missions and orders.

1. What is a Commissioned Officer?

A commissioned officer is the highest officer in the armed forces. Commissioned officers are tasked with training and soldiers. Commissioned officers increase the enthusiasm of the soldiers and the responsibility of protecting them lies with the commissioned officer. Commissioned officers are entrusted with the task of scrutinizing all the recruits in the army. The main function of the commissioned officer is to increase the morale of the soldiers. Commissioned officers teach the army that it is necessary to have attachment towards every task and give 100 percent in that work. The examination of a commissioned officer is conducted by UPSC.

What is NDA Exam?

The full name of NDA is "National Service Academy" (National Defense Academy). Samyukta Seva Academy is located near Khadakwasla Lake, 17 km from Pune city in Maharashtra. The National Service Academy is a combined service academy of the Indian Armed Forces, which recruits into the three wings of the Army, the Army, the Navy and the Air Force. Its purpose is to strengthen the security of the country. To pass NDA one has to pass through two stages. First written examination in which questions are asked from Mathematics and General Ability followed by interview. The eligibility of the candidate is assessed by interview. NDA exam is held twice a year.

  • Candidate should have passed 10th and 12th from any recognized school.
  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • Candidate must be unmarried.
  • Candidate age should be between 16.5 to 19 years.
  • There should not be any physical defect of any kind.

What is CDS Exam?

The full form of CDS is Combined defence Services. CDS exam is conducted by UPSC twice a year. There are two stages in this exam, first written and second interview. CDS exam conducts recruitment of Army, Air Force and Navy.

  • For Air Force 12th Engineering Degree with Physics and Mathematics and age limit should be from 19 to 24 years.
  • For Indian Army, graduation is necessary and age limit should be from 19 to 24 years.
  • For Indian Navy Engineering degree or B.Sc. degree with Chemistry and Mathematics subject and age limit should be from 19 to 25 years.
  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.

2. What is a Non-Commissioned officer?

A non-commissioned officer is a military officer. Non-commissioned officers take responsibility for conducting military missions. Non-commissioned officers’ complete missions with the team. The responsibility of the entire team rests with the non-commissioned officer. Non-commissioned officers are selected for the mission according to their strengths and weaknesses. A non-commissioned officer should have a good relationship with his soldiers and at the same time should have confidence in his military team.

What is the exam of Group X and Y?

  • Indian Air Force conducts examination for the recruitment of Airmen in Group X and Y.
  • This exam is conducted for 12th level candidates.
  • Group X and Airmen of the Air Force can also reach the rank of commissioned officer.
  • This examination is conducted in three phases, written examination, physical health test, medical examination.

What is AFCAT Exam?

This exam is conducted twice a year by the Indian Air Force. A candidate must be a graduate to appear for AFCAT exam. Through this, AFCAT selects candidates for technical and non-technical posts in Ground Duty Technical, Ground Duty Non-Technical Branch. Recruiting. Through this exam, the candidate is selected in the Indian Air Force.

What is Agneepath Scheme?

  • Agneepath scheme was implemented by the country's defence Minister Rajnath Singh on 14 June 2022. 
  • Under this scheme, all the three forces of India will be recruited in the Army, Navy and Air Force. This soldier will be called Agniveer. 
  • At present, a total of 46000 posts are being recruited in this. 
  • To give this exam, the age of the candidate must be 17.5 to 21 years and the candidate must have passed 12th. 
  • Under this scheme, the monthly salary of firefighters will be 30 thousand. And on termination of service, Rs 11 lakh will be given. In this, the service period of 4 years has been fixed. 

It is the dream of every youth to serve their country, for which the services of defence have always been the first choice of the youth. Hope you have got information about the services of Defence through this article and will prove helpful in your preparation for the exam.